Joanna Yeates went missing 17/10/2010; discovered Christmas morning 2010. Investigation ongoing.

Police Have Confirmed Identity

We are extremely saddened to announce that although formal identification procedure is still to be completed, Police have confirmed that the body found in Longwood Lane, Bristol at 9am on Christmas morning is that of Joanna.

A local couple walking their dog discovered the body and immediately notified police who sealed off the area.

A post-mortem is still to be completed so no further details are yet available but Police are treating the death as suspicous.

Joanna’s family and boyfriend have been informed.

This site will be updated with all the known facts of the investigation and we again appeal for any information; call the Operation Braid incident room on 0845 456 7000 or provide information on-line via the special section on the police website or by calling the independent charity Crimestoppers on 0800 555 111. Crimestoppers will not ask for your name and will make no attempt to trace your call.

HEartfelt condolences go out to all of Jo’s friends and family. Please respect their privacy at this difficult time.

All enquiries/information/help with the investigation should be directed to the Avon and Somerset Police force – http://www.avonandsomerset.police.uk/.

 

23 responses

  1. Howard

    ME AND MY FAMILY ARE SO SADDEND AT THIS TERRIBLE NEWS WE REALLY ARE.I DONT NORMALLY EVER POST ANYTHING ON A SITE LIKE THIS BUT I FELT SO SAD.I DONT KNOW THIS FAMILY BUT FEEL SO MUCH FOR THEM AT THIS SAD TIME.I AM ALSO NOT OVER RELGIOUS BUT HAVE PRAYED FOR YOU ALL EVERYDAY I REALLY HOPE SOME HOW YOU WILL GET THROUGH THIS TRAGIC TIME.GOD BLESS YOU ALL HOWARD RAVEN XX

    December 26, 2010 at 4:35 pm

  2. Victoria

    I agree with the above post. I hoped more than anything for her to be found alive.

    I hope that whatever happens after this, the case is wrapped up quickly and her parents, siblings and partner can find peace in it.

    December 26, 2010 at 5:17 pm

  3. Satish

    My heartfelt condolences. Seeing her father in tears reminded me of my father. I cannot believe that senseless loss of life can take place in a world we call civilized. But she’s with our Lord Jesus now. Stay strong and remember that she’s always there with you. God bless you.

    December 26, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  4. Kaisa

    The fate of Joanna is absolutely heartbreaking. I feel so sad for her family. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Kaisa, Finland

    December 26, 2010 at 7:52 pm

  5. grunthaler Marie

    repose en paix
    love

    December 26, 2010 at 8:07 pm

  6. Liz

    So sorry to hear the news yesterday that Jo’s body has been found. My deepest sympathy to her family and all her friends. I cannot imagine what her parents must be going through but am glad for their sakes that they at least know where she is.

    December 26, 2010 at 8:25 pm

  7. Pauline

    So sad. Jo looks like a happy, lovely person. A face full of light.
    I’m sure everyone’s thoughts are with her loved ones now.

    December 26, 2010 at 8:55 pm

  8. Liz Morrison

    So very sad for Jo’s partner, family and friends. Thoughts are with all of you who loved Jo.

    December 26, 2010 at 8:58 pm

  9. Chris Wedderburn

    Dear Yeates family, No words will ease your pain, but need to let you know your grief is shared with many, many others; no matter what comes, don’t give up. Trust God – just keep trusting Him – and know that His ways are far higher than ours… and for now your Jo is at peace. Rarely write on-line comments, but moved to tears by your situation, and want to comfort you. May God bless + protect you. – Chris

    December 26, 2010 at 9:01 pm

  10. MOCM

    Also, don’t usually post like this, but feel so very badly for Jo’s family. It is a horror that as a parent of daughters you just pray you’ll never encounter, and they are living the nightmare that we all fear. Our heartfelt prayers and thoughts are with you, and I hope you have the love and support around you to get you through this. Wish there was something I could do in a practical sense to help. xx

    December 26, 2010 at 10:29 pm

  11. anna

    This story has really saddened me. I so hoped she would be found safe and well. Her family, boyfriend and all who were close to her are in my thoughts.

    Rest in peace Jo

    X

    December 26, 2010 at 11:23 pm

  12. Rev Mhairi Derby Pitt

    My most sincere condolences to family and friends of the vibrant and clever Jo we all got to know and worry about from our news Channels.
    I have, personally, never written on one of these kind of pages before but the tortured days for your family, touched my heart deeply.
    I was abducted, tortured and left for dead ten years ago on the same date, but I was lucky and survived. I prayed constantly that you world be as lucky as I was but as it was not to be, this humble Scots woman’s prayers will be ever more with your family. Your family courage and strength is a tribute to you all. Love Mhairi

    December 26, 2010 at 11:28 pm

  13. Emiliana

    My sincere thoughts are with joannas family. it is the most unnatural thing to have to deal with losing a loved one at such a young age when they have their whole life ahead of them. Stick together and keep strong for her, I know she’ll be watching over you all now as your guardian angel xx

    December 26, 2010 at 11:28 pm

  14. Rach

    As a mummy of 2 young ones, I have followed the news and prayed for the safe return of Jo.
    Parents should never outlast their children.

    R.I.P Jo

    Please, don’t ask me if I’m over it yet
    I’ll never get over it
    Please, don’t tell me she’s in a better place
    she’s not here with me
    Please, don’t say at least she isn’t suffering
    I haven’t come to terms with why she had to suffer at all
    Please, don’t tell me you know how I feel
    Unless you have lost a child
    Please, don’t ask me if I feel better
    Bereavement isn’t a condition that clears up
    Please, don’t tell me you had her for so many days
    What days would you chose for your child to die?
    Please, don’t tell me God never gives more than we can bear
    Please, just say you are sorry
    Please, just say you remember my child
    Please, just let me talk about my child
    Please mention my child’s name
    Please, just let me cry.

    December 26, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  15. Elizabeth Kane

    I am so so sorry my heart goes out to you all. When I first heard Joanna was missing I posted and I have been praying since. I am truelly sorry for your loss.

    December 27, 2010 at 7:54 am

  16. Louise wellings

    Jus so sorry shes gone..
    louise wellings xxx

    December 27, 2010 at 2:16 pm

  17. Richard townsend

    Very upsetting for innocent girl and for parents who have daughters. thoughts with family and friends.

    December 27, 2010 at 3:22 pm

  18. Jo

    Such sad news. Our thoughts are with jo’s family and her boyfriend. The whole country are devastated at the news. God bless xx

    December 27, 2010 at 6:28 pm

  19. grunthaler Marie

    je pense a ses parents,qui on eu le courage de se recueillir,je les vois,et je les embrasse
    love

    December 27, 2010 at 7:05 pm

  20. Chris M

    My condolences for your loss. I hope the perpetrator is captured soon and justice is served.

    December 27, 2010 at 9:20 pm

  21. Michelle

    I have been extraordinarily saddened by this story,even though I don’t know Jo’s family. My thoughts and prayers are with Jo’s friends and family, and I’m sure I speak for many people who would like to send them all their support – they are not alone.

    “I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year
    ‘Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.’
    And he replied,
    ‘Go into the darkness and put your hand into the hand of God
    That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.”

    December 27, 2010 at 9:38 pm

  22. Charlotte

    Oh no… 😦

    December 28, 2010 at 2:32 am

  23. Lou Paget

    Mr and Mrs Yeates,

    I hoped with all my heart that they would find her alive, and I’m so terribly sorry at this horrible outcome. I’m from Easton, and frequently walk the dog up in Clifton – I find this whole thing shocking.

    The thoughts and love of my friends and I are with you at this incredibly difficult time, and I dearly hope that you both and Greg will find a way through your grief after your daughter’s loss.

    She looked like a wonderful, happy girl. I am so, so sorry for your loss.

    With the love of many Bristolian strangers,

    Lou Paget.

    December 28, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Leave a Reply

